Stagecraft Entertainment Logo
TOM WAITS:

-> COVER  
-> READING SAMPLE  
-> ORDER  
-> PUBLISHERS' NOTE  
-> PRESS  
-> BOOKSTORES
PROJECTS:

-> THEATRE PRODUcTION  
   - AAAOFZ THING-FISH   
   - COME AS YOU ARE  
   - NOTES FROM UNDERG.  
ABOUT US:

-> BREM / KNAPP / RAHLFS 
-> CONTACT  
-> LINKS  
-> IMPRINT  
-> AUF DEUTSCH  

  We at STAGECRAFT ENTERTAINMENT have worked for four years to actually bring this project to the stage. The only "musical" Frank Zappa has ever written has been something we just had to do.

It started out as an idea way back in 1999, when Tommi was listening to the studio recording of "Thing-Fish", the "original cast recording". It was a recording put together from already existing material and newly recorded studio material. This piece in it's entirety had never been perfomed on stage, it had never been performed as a theatrical production. It took a year until Tommi and his little crew received permission from Gail Zappa (the late composers wife and head of the Zappa Family Trust) to perform two scenes.

Haveing tasted blood, the "triumvirate" Daniel Knapp, Wolf E. Rahlfs and Tommi Brem moved the project forward, until they received permission to perform their own adaptation in a London theatre.

"An authorized adaptation of Frank Zappa's Thing-Fish" opend the "Opera Season at the Battersea Arts Centre. The help of an international cast and crew of 32, a handful of sponsors and the private bank accounts of Knapp, Rahlfs and Brem made this production happen. Four sold out shows and an international audience as well as extensive media coverage made up for the effort and the money spent.

2001/2003
   
 
BACKGROUND:   "Thing-Fish" is a satire on musicals. There is a whole set of story lines: 1.) There are Harry and Rhonda who go to the theatre to see a musical. 2.) There is the Evil Prince who invented a poison that made some people very ugly. Those people have now taken over Broadway, performing the show Harry and Rhonda are going to see. 3.) There is the story of Harry and Rhonda "growing up in Ermerica", acted out to themselves and the audience by "replicas". The whole thing is topped of with TV evangelists, a mechanical baby jesus, a greasy italian and the inevitable Broadway Zombies.

"Thing-Fish" is not only a satire on musicals but also on the whole surrounding. The people that go to see the shows, the actors, the stories, the recycling of storylines and repeating sctructures in musicals.

It is also a comment on (then and still) current trends in society and in it all, it is about people who take themselves to serious (actors, regular people governments). And it is entertaining as hell!
PRESS:   "Thing-Fish is pretty damn terrible, in an entertaining kind of way."
(The GUARDIAN, Lyn Gardner)
 
AN AUTHORIZED ADAPTATION OF FRANK ZAPPA'S THING-FISH
ADVERTISEMENT:

TOM WAITS: MUSIK UND MYTHOS
JAY S. JACOBS


368 Pages | Paperback


Price: 15,- Euro (+ Shipment)

Tom Waits Musik und Mythos jetzt bestellen
 
© 2009 stagecraft entertainment

Stagecraft Entertainment Logo
TOM WAITS:

-> COVER  
-> LESEPROBE  
-> BESTELLUNG  
-> HERAUSGEBER  
-> PRESSE  
-> BUCHHANDEL
PROJEKTE:

-> THEATERPRODUKTION  
   - AAAOFZ THING-FISH   
   - COME AS YOU ARE  
   - NOTES FROM UNDERG.  
ÜBER UNS:

-> BREM / KNAPP / RAHLFS 
-> KONTAKT  
-> LINKS  
-> IMPRESSUM  
-> SWITCH TO ENGLISH  

  Wir von STAGECRAFT ENTERTAINMENT haben vier Jahre lang daran gearbeitet dieses Stück auf die Bühne zu bringen. Das einzige "Musical" aus Zappas Feder war etwas das wir einfach produzieren mussten.

Es fing im Jahr 1999 als Schnapsidee an, als Tommi Brem sich die Studioaufnahme von "Thing-Fish" anhörte. Ein drei-LP Album das zum einen aus bereits existierendem Material und zum anderen aus speziell aufgenommenem Studiomaterial zusammengebaut worden war. Dieses Stück war noch nie in seiner Gesamtheit aufgeführt worden, ganz zu schweigen von einer Theaterproduktion. Es dauerte ein volles Jahr bis Tommi und sein kleines Team endlich die Erlaubnis von Gail Zappa (Witwe des Komponisten und Leiterin des Zappa Family Trust) erhielten, zwei Szenen aufzuführen.

Nachdem sie auf diese Weise Blut geleckt hatten, beschloss das "Triumvirat" bestehend aus Daniel Knapp, Wolf E. Rahlfs und Tommi Brem das Projekt weiter zu treiben, bis sie nach weiteren 3 Jahren endlich die Erlaubnis bekamen, "Thing-Fish" in ihrer ganz eigenen Adaption im August 2003 in London auf die Bühne zu bringen.

"An authorized adaptation of Frank Zappa's Thing-Fish" eröffnete die "Opera Season" des Battersea Arts Centre. Unter Mithilfe eines 32köpfigen, internationalen Teams, ein handvoll Sponsoren und den privaten Ersparnissen von Knapp, Rahlfs und Brem wurde die Produktion in die Realität umgesetzt. Vier ausverkaufte Vorführungen mit internationalem Publikum und enorme Presseresonanz machten die Mühen wieder wett.

2001/2003
   
HINTERGRUND:   "Thing-Fish" ist die Satire eines Musicals. Es gibt einige Erzählebenen: 1.) Da sind Harry und Rhonda die sich ein Theaterstück ansehen gehen. 2.) Da ist der "Evil Prince" der ein Gift erfand, das manche menschen unheimlich häßlich gemacht hat. Diese infiltrieren nun das Musicalgeschäft und führen eben jenes Stück auf, das Harry und Rhonda sehen. 3.) Da gibt es die Geschichte, wie Harry und Rhonda in Amerika aufwuchsen und die wird von ihren Kopien aufgeführt. Das ganze wird noch abgeschmeckt mit Fernsehpredigern, mechanischen Jesuskindern und einer handvoll Broadway-Zombies.

"Thing-Fish" karrikiert nicht nur ein Musical, sondern das ganze "drumherum". Die leute die sich so etwas ansehen, die Schauspieler, die Geschichten, das Wiederkäuen von Stories und Wiederverwerten von bekannten Strukturen.

Es kommentiert aktuelle gesellschaftliche Trends und vor allem menschen die sich selbst zu ernst nehmen (Schauspieler, Hinz und Kunz, Regierungen). Nebenbei ist es verdammt unterhaltsam.
PRESSE:   "Thing-Fish ist ziemlich fürchterlich, auf fürchterlich unterhaltsame Art und Weise." (The GUARDIAN, Lyn Gardner)
 
AN AUTHORIZED ADAPTATION OF FRANK ZAPPA'S THING-FISH
WERBUNG:

TOM WAITS: MUSIK UND MYTHOS
JAY S. JACOBS


368 Seiten | Taschenbuch


Preis: 15,- Euro (+ Versand)

Tom Waits Musik und Mythos jetzt bestellen
 
© 2009 stagecraft entertainment